Books and Public History Awards

The Western History Association benefits from the generosity of donors who have honored the legacy of scholars, members, and individuals from the western history community. All books and public history projects must be submitted to their respective award committee members by April 15, 2020. For more details on the awards, visit each award page. The WHA office sends award notifications in August. 

Due to the unexpected challenges of the global pandemic of the novel coronavirus, all WHA book and article deadlines are extended to May 15, 2020. Publishers unable to access physical copies or journals and books are allowed to submit electronic book copies to each award committee member.

Autry Public History Prize: Annual $1000 award for the best model of professional public history practice in the history of the American West.

Caughey Western History Prize: Annual $2500 award for the best book in Western History

David J. Weber-Clements Prize: Annual $2500 award for the best non-fiction book on Southwestern America

Donald L. Fixico Award: Annual $1000 award recognizes innovative work in the field of American Indian and Canadian First Nations History
Dwight L. Smith (ABC-CLIO) Award: Annual $500 award for a bibliographic or research work

Hal K. Rothman Award: Annual $500 award for best book in western environmental history

Joan Paterson Kerr Award: Annual $500 award for best illustrated book on the American West

John C. Ewers Award: Annual $500 award for best book on the topic of North American Indian Ethnohistory

Robert G. Athearn Award: Annual $500 award for best book on the twentieth-century West

Robert M. Utley Prize: Annual $500 award for best book on military history of the frontier and western North America

Sally and Ken Owens Award: Annual $500 award for best book on the history of the Pacific West, including Alaska, Hawaii, Western Canada, and the U.S. Pacific Territories

W. Turrentine Jackson Award: Annual $1000 award for best first published book on the American West.

Return to Awards Page

Western History Association

UNO History Department

6001 Dodge Street

Omaha, NE 68182   (402) 554-5999 

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences and UNO Department of History. The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.