The Western History Association membership elects the primary governing body of the organization, which consists of the President, President-Elect, Executive Director, and seven regularly elected members to serve on the Council. Together, and with the assistance of the Nominating Committee and other committees, these elected officials oversee the broad interests of the association by managing business and creating policies that promote a congenial home for all those interested in the study of the North American West. 

To learn more about the rules governing the WHA and its affairs, read the organization's Constitution and ByLaws. More information about the WHA's various standing committees can be found here.

Executive Committee

 Donald L. Fixico, President
 Arizona State University
 Martha A. Sandweiss, President-Elect
 Princeton University
 Elaine Nelson, Executive Director
 University of Nebraska at Omaha


Cathleen Cahill (2018)
Pennsylvania State University
 Jennifer Macias, WHAGSC Liaison (2018)
 University of Utah
 Gregory E. Smoak (2018)
University of Utah 
Susan Johnson (2019)
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Jose Alamillo (2019) 
California State University, Channel Islands
Renée Laegreid (2019)
University of Wyoming
Stephen Aron (2019)
University of California, Los Angeles
Anne M. Hyde (ex-officio)
Western Historical Quarterly
John W. Heaton (2019)
University of Alaska Fairbanks
John Mack Faragher (2018)
Yale University

Shelia McManus (2020)
University of Lethbridge

Jeffrey Ostler (2020)
University of Oregon

Nominating Committee

 Connie Chiang (2019)
Bowdoin College
Amy Lonetree (2019)
University of California, Santa Cruz
Lori Lahlum (2018)
Minnesota State University, Mankato
 Leisl Carr Childers (2018)
 Colorado State University
 George Diaz (2018)
University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Sponsors and Partners

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 |

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.