WHA Graduate Student Prize

The Western History Association is pleased to accept applications for the WHA Graduate Student Prize. Inaugurated in 2014, the prize is designed to foster graduate student professional development and to enhance collegial citizenship within the organization. Up to ten students may receive the award. Each recipient will receive: a one-year WHA Membership, complimentary conference registration and tickets to the Welcoming Reception and Graduate Student Reception, and three nights of lodging in the conference hotel.

Prize ResponsibilitiesPrize winners must attend the WHA conference in the award year. The WHA Graduate Student Prize may be held concurrently with other WHA graduate student awards. WHA Graduate Student Prize winners are expected to be active in the organization through service on WHA committees and/or through participation in annual conference events and attendance at conference sessions. In addition, WHA Graduate Student Prize winners will act as co-hosts of the Graduate Student Reception each year.

More importantly, each WHA Graduate Student Prize winner must submit a two-page post-conference report to the WHA no later than December 31 of the award year. Details on report requirements will be included with the award letter.

To apply, please submit the following electronically to WHAGraduateStudentPrize@gmail.com:

1) application cover page (name, contact information, institutional affiliation, year of study, and the names of thesis or dissertation committee members)

2) curriculum vitae

3) a brief (one page) description of your interest in this prize and an assessment of how this prize will foster your professional goals

Late submissions will not be reviewed. Incomplete submissions will not be reviewed. Winners will be notified in August.

Application Submission Deadline: June 15, 2019

Past Recipients 

2018 | Ryan Booth (Washington State), Cassandra Clark (University of Utah), Curtis Foxley (University of Oklahoma), Lindsay Erin Marshall (University of Oklahoma), Sarah Sadlier (Harvard University), Austin Stewart (Lehigh University), Bryan Winston (St Louis University), Cecily N. Zander (Penn State)

2017 | Justin Whitney (California State University, Sacramento), Jason Hogstad (University of Colorado, Boulder), Lora Key (University of Arizona), Madison Heslop (University of Washington), Kerri Clement (University of Colorado, Boulder), Kathryn Carpenter (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Rhiannon Koehler (University of California Los Angeles), Jared Eberle (Oklahoma State University), Joseph Schiller (University of Oklahoma), Joseph Stuart (University of Utah)

2016John Buchkoski (University of Oklahoma), Tiffany Gonzalez (Texas A&M University),  Danae Jacobson (University of Norte Dame), Daniel Grant (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Jacob Jurss (Michigan State University), Peter Chesney (University of California Los Angeles), Joel Zapata (Southern Methodist University), Joseph Stuart (University of Utah), Michael Matsumaru (University of New Orleans), Travis Ross (University of Utah)

2015| Farina King (Arizona State University), Billy Kaiser (Arizona State University), Rhae Lynn Barnes (Harvard University), Reetta Humalajoki (Durham University), Quin'Nita Cobbins (University of Washington), Lindsey Passenger Wieck (St. Mary's University), Brian Stack (Washington State University), Mikal Eckstrom (University of Nebraska Lincoln), Brianne Stein (University of New Mexico), Karissa Patton (University of Saskatchewan)

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 | westernhistoryassociation@gmail.com

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.