Log in




The Committee on Teaching and Public Education works year-round to increase awareness of new scholarship on the history of the North American West and to connect educators at the K-12 and university level to share teaching practices. The CTPE encourages collaboration between teachers and historians viewing the benefits of these partnerships as flowing in both directions, with new scholarship on the North American West being transmitted to classrooms at all levels and with K-12 teachers adding their expertise to conversations about teaching and learning.


  • Chair: Lindsay Stallones Marshall, Illinois State University
  • Mark Bernhardt, Jackson State University
  • David Beyreis, Ursuline Academy of Dallas
  • Peter Blodgett, Independent Historian
  • William DeStefano, Tucson, Arizona
  • Alicia Dewey, Biola University
  • Jessica Jackson, Colorado State University
  • Jeffrey Johnson, Providence College
  • Mark Johnson, University of Notre Dame
  • Michelle Lorimer, California State University, San Bernardino
  • Patricia Loughlin, University of Central Oklahoma
  • Kevan Malone, University of California, San Diego
  • Shannon Murray, Calgary Stampede
  • Andrew Varsanyi, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860 

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas. The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!