John C. Ewers Award

The Western History Association announces the John C. Ewers Book Award given annually for the best published book on the North American (including Mexico) Indian Ethnohistory. The award is $500 to the author and a certificate to the publisher. The award is supported by the Ewers family and administered by the Western History Association.  

Publishers may submit more than one title each year. All submissions must have a 2018 publication date. While the formal process requires presses/journals to submit the work of their authors, the WHA strongly recommends that authors check with the award committee chair a week before the deadline to see if they received a copy of their work. Presses should submit nominations and a copy of the book to each member of the award committee listed below. 

Award Submission (postmark) Deadline: April 15, 2019

The award recipient and editor/publisher will be notified by September 15. View a list of past recipients.

John Bowes, Chair

 Eastern Kentucky University

EKU Department of History, Philosophy, and Religious Studies - Keith 325
 521 Lancaster Avenue
 Richmond, KY 40475

Paul Kelton

Stony Brook University

Stony Brook University
Social and Behavioral Sciences Building S-329
Stony Brook, NY 11794

David R. M. Beck

University of Montana

University of Montana
 32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812

John C. Ewers

John Canfield Ewers (1909 – 1997) was an American ethnologist  and museum curator. Known for his studies on the art and history of the American Plains Indians, he was described by the New York Times as one of his country's "foremost interpreters of American Indian culture." He was instrumental in establishing the National Museum of American History and became its Director in 1964. At the time of his death he was Ethnologist Emeritus of the Smithsonian Institution and was the first recipient of the Smithsonian's Exceptional Service Award as well as the Western History Association's Oscar O. Winther Award and the American Alliance of Museum's Distinguished Service Award. Source: Manuscript National Anthropological Archives, Smithsonian Institution. 1999–2006.

Past Recipients

2019 | Lisa Brooks, Our Beloved Kin: A New History of King Philip’s War (Yale University Press, 2018)

2018 | Rosalyn R. LaPier for Invisible Reality: Storytellers, Storytakers, and the Supernatural World of the Blackfeet (University of Nebraska Press, 2017)

2017 | David A. Chang for The World and All the Things Upon It: Native Hawaiian Geographies of Exploration (University of Minnesota Press, 2016)

2016 | Joshua Reid for The Sea Is My Country: The Maritime World of the Makahs (Yale University Press)

2014 | Kathryn Magee LaBelle for Dispersed but Not Destroyed: A History of the Seventeenth-Century Wendat People (Vancouver: University of British Columbia Press, 2013)

2012Christina Snyder for Slavery in Indian Country: The Changing Face of Captivity in Early America (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2010)

2010Pekka Hämäläinen for The Comanche Empire (New Haven: Yale University Press, 2008)

2008Ned Blackhawk for Violence Over the Land: Indians and Empires in the Early American West (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2006)

2006Philip Deloria for Indians in Unexpected Places (Lawrence: University Press of Kansas, 2006)

2004Colin G. Calloway for One Vast Winter Count: The Native American West Before Lewis and Clark (Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2003)

2002Martha C. Knack for Boundaries Between: The Southern Paiutes, 1775-1995 (Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 2002)

2000William N. Fenton for The Great Law and the Longhouse: A Political History of the Iroquois Confederacy (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1998)

Return to Awards

Western History Association

UNO History Department

6001 Dodge Street

Omaha, NE 68182   (402) 554-5999 

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences and UNO Department of History. The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.