WHA Seeks New Executive Director & Institutional Sponsor

Wednesday, March 23, 2016 2:35 PM | Anonymous

The Western History Association seeks a new Executive Director and home for its executive office, beginning July 1, 2017. The Executive Director, selected by the WHA Council, is a member of the Council and, with the President and the President-elect constitutes the Association’s Executive Committee to conduct Association business when the Council is not in session. The Executive Director conducts the routine affairs of the Association, maintains Association records and accounts, makes annual financial reports to Council, reports to membership on the actions of Council, arranges for annual meetings of the Association, and conducts the annual business meeting as well as other duties assigned by the Council. The Constitution of the WHA, which defines and describes the core duties of the Executive Director, can be consulted on-line at http://tinyurl.com/go5gw6a

Applicants with faculty appointments should be tenured with appropriate publications and administrative experience. Applicants from research libraries, museums, or other institutions should have sufficient seniority and institutional backing to provide assurance of secure tenure and ongoing support. The successful applicant will be able to demonstrate institutional support (office space, clerical-administrative staff, etc.) and the ability to devote 50% of her or his time to the WHA. The WHA contributes financially to supplement the support provided by the institutional sponsor.

Applicants should use regular or electronic mail to send a letter of interest, a c. v., the names of three references, and a letter of support from their institution to:

 George Miles, Chair of the WHA Search Committee
Yale Collection of Western Americana
P. O. Box 208330
New Haven, CT 06520-8330

george.miles@yale.edu.

 To be assured of consideration applications must be received by September 1, 2016. Interviews will be conducted at the annual meeting of the WHA in St. Paul, Minnesota the week of October 17, 2016.  The WHA is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

 Potential applicants are encouraged to address questions to members of the search committee:

Don Fixico Donald.Fixico@asu.edu;
Chuck Rankin
cerankin@ou.edu;
Pablo Mitchell
Pablo.mitchell@oberlin.edu;
Sherry Smith
sherrys@smu.edu;
Virginia Scharff
vscharff@unm.edu;
Marsha L Weisiger
weisiger@uoregon.edu;
George Miles
george.miles@yale.edu

 Or to

 WHA President John Faragher john.faragher@yale.edu, or
WHA President-elect Steve Aron
saron@history.ucla.edu


Western History Association

UNO History Department

6001 Dodge Street

Omaha, NE 68182   (402) 554-5999

westernhistoryassociation@gmail.com 



The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences and UNO Department of History. The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.