News and Announcements

The WHA Office often receives notifications about awards, scholarships, fellowships, and events that might be of interest to our members. Please send details to us about your programs and we will post this information to our news blog below.

  • Thursday, August 22, 2019 12:38 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The CWWH will be offering its $500 WHA graduate student travel grant again this year (deadline Sept 20). please spread the word widely!

    The grant of $500 may be used for travel, registration, and lodging in Las Vegas. The recipient will also receive a ticket to the CWWH Breakfast, where s/he/ze will receive the award. Please send your application and a letter of reference is requested to be sent directly to Cathleen Cahill via email at

    Application Form: Please send your application as a Word or PDF document to with “CWWH Grant Competition” in the subject line.

    In your application please include a cover page with the following information:

    Full Name: Affiliation and year in program: 

    Address, phone number, and email address: 

    Are you registered for the 2019 WHA Conference:

    Please attach to the cover page the following:

    In 250 words (one page, double spaced) or less, please describe how your research engages analyses of gender and/or reflects your commitment to advancing the scholarship on women, gender, and sexuality in the North American West.

    Please submit to

    Letter of recommendation Please ask your advisor or a faculty member who knows your work to provide a letter of recommendation that addresses that ways in which your research engages analyses of gender and/or reflects your commitment to the history of women and gender in the American West and send it directly by email by Sept 20th.

  • Wednesday, August 14, 2019 1:58 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Graduate Students: don't miss out on the opportunity to apply for the 2019 Grad Student Workshop at #WHA2019. Email by 9/16/19 to secure your spot. See the attached documents for more details. Participants receive $200.

  • Wednesday, August 14, 2019 1:29 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Call for Abstracts: "XV Recovering the US Hispanic Literary Heritage: Histories and Cultures of Latinas: Suffrage, Activism, and Women's Rights." The conference will be February 20-22, 2020 in Downtown Houston. Submit your 250-word abstract and CV to by 8/31/19.

  • Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:40 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Utah Division of State History is pleased to be hosting the 2019 Utah Gravestone Preservation Workshop from August 26 to August 28, 2019 at the Salt Lake City Cemetery and Glenwood Cemetery. Space is limited and registration is required.

  • Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:32 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The Autry Museum of the American West will be accepting applications online for two curator positions at until early October, 2019. Apply for the Curator of Western History today!

  • Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:29 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The Autry Museum of the American West will be accepting applications online for two curator positions at until early October, 2019. Apply for the Ahmanson Curator of Native American History and Culture today!

  • Tuesday, August 06, 2019 11:26 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The University of Michigan’s Department of American Culture seeks qualified applicants for an open-rank tenure-track faculty appointment. Apply for the position today! Applications are due September 15, 2019.


  • Tuesday, June 18, 2019 10:58 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    The Utah Division of State History, partnering with the University of Utah Marriott Library, has digitized and published the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Newsletters Collection, 1935-1941. The CCC Newsletter Collection includes weekly newsletters from CCC camps located in Utah. Featuring original artwork by camp members, these newsletters detail work projects, courses taught at camp, recreation, and other facets of camp life.

    “It’s an amazing resource,” said Melissa Coy, project manager for the CCC Newsletters digitization project. “These newsletters provide a window into camp life, and they reveal much about the mission of the CCC and the values and worldviews of the men in the camps. Their unique and readable nature makes the newsletters an excellent primary source for classroom instruction.”

    When FDR took office in March 1933, the Great Depression was at its worst point, with bank failures, inflation, and one in four individuals out of work. In exchange for food, clothing, a bunk, and a small allowance ($5), young men enrolled in the CCC sent the bulk of their earnings ($25) directly to their families back home. Nicknamed FDR’s “Forest Army,” the CCC planted trees, built trails, established phone lines, constructed fences, bridges, roads, and created check and silt dams for flood control. CCC members spent their individual earnings in Utah, amounting to more than $125,000 a month. Utah businesses secured government contracts to supply equipment, lumber, and foodstuffs. When the CCC ended in 1942, the Federal Security Agency estimated that the CCC had spent over $52 million in Utah. The hiking trails, campgrounds, and fishing enjoyed by Utahans today is rooted in the hard, physical labor of the men enlisted in the Civilian Conservation Corps.

  • Monday, April 15, 2019 1:01 PM | Deleted user

    The Syracuse University Press is pleased to announce its new Haudenosaunee and Indigenous Worlds series. This series will expand the Press’s historical emphasis in “Iroquois” and Native American publications to better reflect current scholarship regarding oral tradition, de-colonial and Indigenous studies—writ large. We welcome submissions from diverse authors across disciplines, traditions, and orientations, but with special emphasis on the Haudenosaunee. The series will be led by Philip P. Arnold and Scott Manning Stevens. For queries, please contact acquisitions editor Peggy Solic:


    About the series editors:

    Philip P. Arnold is Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Religion at Syracuse University, and a core faculty member of Native American and Indigenous Studies. He is the Founding Director of the Skä·noñh—Great Law of Peace Center

    Scott Manning Stevens is Associate Professor and Director, Native American and Indigenous Studies; and Associate Professor, English Department, Syracuse University.

    For more detailed information,  visit:    

  • Monday, April 15, 2019 12:45 PM | Deleted user
    The Amon Carter Museum of American Art invites applications for the 2019/2020 Davidson Family Fellowship. The fellowship provides support for scholars holding a PhD (or equivalent) or PhD candidates to work on research projects in American art that advance scholarship by connecting with objects in the museum’s permanent collection. The stipend rate is $3,000 per month for a minimum one-month to a maximum four-month period of full-time research at the museum. 


    The application deadline is July 1, 2019, for a fellowship to begin on or after October 1, 2019, and end by September 30, 2020. Housing and travel expenses are to be managed and funded by the fellow.


    Full description, including application form and guidelines:

    Send questions to

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas 

1445 Jayhawk Blvd.

3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045