Autry Public History Prize

The Autry Public History Prize is awarded annually to media exhibits, public programs, or written works that contribute to a broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or serve as a model of professional public history practice in the history of the North American West. The award consists of a $1,000 prize and a certificate to the award recipient. The prize is made possible by the generous support of the Autry National Center. View a list of past recipients

Please note that non-fiction books and journal articles are not eligible for this award. Eligible projects may include, but are not limited to, the following areas. 

  • Media such as web pages, web-based video, audio, blogs, documentaries, and films (DVD, etc.)
  • Public Programs such as lecture series, walking tours, oral history projects, outreach activity, educational offerings, workshops, etc.
  • Written Works such as research, reports, brochures, working papers, etc. or historical fiction (including books), that contribute to larger public history efforts to broaden public history understanding.
  • Exhibits in museums, cultural centers, and other public venues

To be eligible for the award in 2018, the project must have been completed in 2017. When submitting material to the award committee (see below) for consideration please follow the Autry Prize Submission Guidelines

Award Submission Deadline: April 15, 2018

The award recipient and editor/publisher will be notified by September 15.

2018 Autry Public History Prize Committee

Josh Garrett-Davis
3930 Los Feliz, Blvd., Apt 209
 Los Angeles, CA 90027

Roger Nichols
University of Arizona
 1110 James E. Rogers Way
 Tucson, AZ 85721

Past Recipients

2017 | Benjamin Johnson, Trinidad Gonzales, Sonia Hernández, John Morán González, Monica Munoz Martiñez at the Bullock Texas State History Museum for the exhibition Refusing to Forget.

2016 | Oakland Museum of California for the exhibition Pacific Worlds

2015 | South El Monte Arts Posse for ""East of East: Mapping Community Narratives", digital archive, Columbia University, 2015. Click here to read more.

2014 |

Return to Awards

Sponsors and Partners

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 |

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.