Western History Association Dissertation Prize

The Western History Association recognizes the best dissertation on the history of the North American West, in its varied aspects and broadest sense, defended and filed in the preceding calendar year. (For example, all dissertations defended and filed in 2021 will be eligible for the 2022 prize.) The prize consists of a $500 award and a plaque. Authors of eligible dissertations must be a member of the WHA at the time of submission.

For the 2022 award cycle, submit the following to each committee member listed below: 1) a cover letter with contact information including name, affiliation, and preferred email address and 2) the dissertation, which should include an abstract. 

-2022 Awards Cycle opens January 25, 2022

-2022 Award Submission Deadline: April 15, 2022

The WHA office will notify the 2022 recipient in mid-September.

Brian Leech, Chair
Augustana College


Sunu Kodumthara
Southwestern Oklahoma State University


Lissa Wadewitz
Linfield University


Past Recipients

2021 | Cori Simon, "Shadowland: Indian Territory's Contested Past and Uncertain Future, 1800-1910"

Return to Awards

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860