Indian Student Conference Scholarship

Two $500 annual awards will be given to Native American students, undergraduate, M.A., or Ph.D., to help lessen the burden of costs to attend the annual Western History Association. In addition, the cost of conference registration and tickets to the WHA Welcoming Reception, Graduate Student Reception, Presidential luncheon, and Indian Scholars Luncheon will be included in the award. 

The WHA especially thanks Colorado College’s Hulbert Center for Southwest Studies for its generosity in supporting this award in 2019.

To be considered for this award, send one pdf file with the following to each member of the committee listed below: 1) a letter of interest, and 2) CV. Please also request that your faculty advisor send a letter of recommendation to each member of the committee. Please use your last name in the title of your pdf file.

-2020 Awards Cycle opens January 25, 2020

-2020 Award Submission Deadline: June 15, 2020

The WHA office sends award notifications in August. View a list of past recipients.


Julie L. Reed, Chair

Penn State University

Penn State University
214 Weaver Building

University Park, PA 16802

Alexandra Harmon
University of Washington

900 Warren Ave. North
Seattle, WA 98109

Margaret Huettl

University of Nebraska-Lincoln

612 Oldfather Hall

Lincoln, NE 68588

Past Recipients

2019 Deserea R. Langley and Kristen Simmons

2018 | Ryan Booth and Bridget Groat

2017 | John Little

2016 | Alaina Roberts

2015 | Vanessa Esquivido-Meza and Tiffany Hale

2014 | Jameson R. Sweet

2013 | Margaret Huettl and Farina King

2012 | No Award Given

2011 | Maurice Crandall and Alessandra La Rocca Link

2010 | Angel Hinzo and Julie Reed

2009 | Farina King and Josh Horowitz

2008 | Elise Boxer

2007 | Doug Kiel and Nicole Nesberg

2006 | Heather Ponchetti Daly and Joshua Reid

2005 | Jessica Pedro and Skott Vigil

2004 | Jeffrey Means and Rosalyn Rae LaPier

2003 | Elise Boxer and Kim Suina

Return to Awards

Western History Association

UNO History Department

6001 Dodge Street

Omaha, NE 68182   (402) 554-5999 

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences and UNO Department of History. The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.