Joan Paterson Kerr Award

The Western History Association announces a prize of $500 for the Joan Paterson Kerr Book Award. This award is presented annually for the best illustrated book on the history of the American West. There is a $500 prize awarded to the author/editor and a certificate goes to the press. View a list of past recipients.

All submissions must have a 2017 publication date. Presses should submit nominations and a copy of the book to each member of the award committee listed below. 

Award Submission (postmark) Deadline: April 15, 2018

The award recipient and editor/publisher will be notified by September 15.

2018 Joan Paterson Kerr Award Committee

 Carolyn Brucken, Chair
Autry Museum of the American West
 4700 Western Heritage Way
Los Angeles, CA 90027-1462

 Cynthia Prescott
Department of History
University of North Dakota
 221 Centennial Dr., Stop 8096
 Grand Forks, ND 58202-8096

Steven Danver
Walden University
15640 NE Fourth Plain Bl., Ste. 106427
Vancouver, WA 98682

Joan Paterson Kerr (1921- 1996): "Mrs. Kerr was a founding picture editor of American Heritage magazine. She was a co-editor of American Album, published by American Heritage, and The Romantic Egoists, a pictorial history of F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald. She also was a picture editor at Newsweek Books and for the Book-of-the-Month Club series "The American Past." Mrs. Kerr also compiled A Bully Father: Theodore Roosevelt's Letters to His Children (1995), for which she wrote the biographical essay and notes." (Source: The New York Times, Nov. 22, 1996)

Past Recipients

2017 | Marian Wardle and Sarah E. Boehme for Branding the American West: Paintings and Films 1900-1950 (University of Oklahoma Press, 2016).

2015 | Sergei Kan for A Russian American photographer in Tlingit country : Vincent Soboleff in Alaska (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2013)

2013 | Eric L. Muller for Colors of Confinement: Rare Kodachrome Photographs of Japanese American Incarceration in World War II (Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2012)

2011 | Carol Clark for Charles Deas and 1840s America (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2009)

2009 | B. Byron Price for Charles M. Russell: A Catalogue RaisonnĂ© (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2007)

2007 | Margot Liberty, ed. Commentary by John Woodenlegs for A Northern Cheyenne Album: Photographs by Thomas B. Marquis (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 2006)

2005 | Edited by Brandon K. Ruud, annotations by Marsha V. Gallagher, essays by Ron Tyler and Brandon K. Ruud, preface by J. Brooks Joyner for Karl Bodmer‘s North American Prints (Joslyn Art Museum and University of Nebraska Press, 2004)

2003 | Aron L. Crowell (Editor), Amy F. Steffian (Editor), Gordon L. Pullar (Editor) Looking Both Ways: Heritage and Identity of the Alutiiq People (Fairbanks: University of Alaska Press, 2001)

2001 | Carlos Schwantes for Long Day‘s Journey: The Steamboat and Stagecoach Era in the Northern West (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1999). 

1999 | Mary Meagher and Douglas B. Houston for Yellowstone and the Biology of Time (Norman: University of Oklahoma Press, 1998)

1997 | Peter Hassrick and Melissa J. Webster for Frederic Remington: A Catalogue Raisonne of Paintings, Watercolors and Drawings (University of Washington Press, 1996)

1995 | Edited by David Harris with Eric Sandweiss for Eadweard Muybridge and the Photographic Panorama of San Francisco, 1850-1880 (Cambridge: MIT Press, 1993)

1993 | David W. Penny for Art of the American Indian Frontier: The Chandler-Pohrt Collection (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1992).

Return to Awards

Sponsors and Partners

The WHA is hosted on the campus of the University of Nebraska at Omaha and benefits from the generous support of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Western History Association | University of Nebraska at Omaha | Department of History | 6001 Dodge Street | Omaha, NE 68182 | 

| (402) 554-5999 |

The Western History Association is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.