Log in

We appreciate your patience while we work to update our website.


The Committee on Race in the American West aims to increase the presence and participation of scholars of color as well as the presence of scholarship on race within the WHA. It is our goal to make the WHA a welcoming environment for scholars of color at every level and an organization that embraces many different historical perspectives on the history of the American West.



Mary E. Mendoza (Chair), Penn State University

Cathleen Cahill, Pennsylvania State University

Erika Pérez, University of Arizona

CRAW Advisors:

Maria Montoya, NYU and NYU-Shanghai

Traci Voyles, University of Oklahoma

Jennifer Macias, University of Wyoming

Lina-Maria Murillo, University of Iowa

Kelly Lytle Hernández, University of California, Los Angeles

Danielle Olden, University of Utah

Kent Blansett, University of Kansas

Dana Weiner, Wilfrid Laurier University

Laura Hooton, Angelo State University

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860 

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas. The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!