OAH Awards

Monday, November 15, 2021 7:00 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

The Organization of American Historians (OAH) is currently offering two awards that may be of interest. 

First, the Stanton-Horton Award for Excellence in National Park Service History recognizes excellence in National Park Service historical efforts and welcomes projects that encourage civic dialogue in all areas of public history. Eligible submissions include park-based interpretive work (museum exhibits, waysides, digital and print media, public programming, etc.); regionally-oriented educational and preservation programs; National Register or NHL nominations, historic resource and special resource studies which have public outreach components, and national programs and projects designed to encourage public appreciation for the complexity and richness of the American past. 

The application deadline for the Stanton-Horton Award is December 15, 2021. For more info on this award, see here: https://www.oah.org/awards/uncategorized-awards/stanton-horton-award/

Second, the Huggins-Quarles Award is given annually by the OAH to one or two graduate students of color to assist them with expenses related to travel to research collections for the completion of the Ph.D. dissertation. 

The application deadline for the Huggins-Quarles Award is January 1, 2021. For more info on this award, see here: https://www.oah.org/awards/dissertation-awards/huggins-quarles-award/

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860