David J. Weber Prize

The WHA announces the David J. Weber Prize given annually for the best non-fiction book on Southwestern America. The competition will be open to any non-fiction book, including biography, on any aspect of Southwestern life, past or present with a 2022 copyright. The purpose of the prize is to promote fine writing and original research on the American Southwest. The author will receive $2500 and an invitation to give the annual David J. Weber Prize Lecture at Southern Methodist University. 

All submissions must have a 2022 publication date. Presses should submit nominations and a copy of the book to each member of the award committee listed below. While the formal process requires presses/journals to submit the work of their authors, the WHA strongly recommends that authors check with the award committee chair a week before the deadline to see if they received a copy of their work.

-2023 Awards Cycle opens January 25, 2023

-2023 Award Submission (Postmark) Deadline: April 15, 2023

The WHA office sends award notifications in August. View past recipients.

Maurice Crandall, Chair

Arizona State University

3805 E Desert Flower Ln

Phoenix, AZ 85044


Monica Perales

University of Houston

3553 Cullen Blvd. #524

Department of History

University of Houston

Houston, TX 77204


Andrew Offenburger

Miami University

518 Glenview Drive
Oxford, OH 45056


Weber and Clements

In 2011, the Western History Association Council and the Clements Center agreed to sponsor a new book prize to be administered by the WHA. The David J. Weber-Clements Prize for the Best Non-Fiction Book on Southwestern America was presented for the first time at the 2012 WHA conference. The prize originated as the William P. Clements Prize for the Best Non-Fiction Book on Southwestern America, where it has been awarded by the Center since 1999. William P. Clements, Jr., who passed away in May 2011, was the Governor of Texas and the founding benefactor of the Center. The prize honored both Governor Clements and the Center's Founding Director and past WHA President, David J. Weber, who passed away in August 2010. 

The award was renamed in November 2020 in honor of the Center's Founding Director and past WHA President David J. Weber.

Past Recipients

2022 | Paul Barba, Country of the Cursed and the Driven: Slavery and the Texas Borderlands (University of Nebraska Press, 2021)

2021 | Jennifer Holland, Tiny You: A Western History of the Anti-Abortion Movement (University of California Press, 2020)

2020 Maurice Crandall, These People Have Always Been a Republic: Indigenous Electorates in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, 1598-1912 (University of North Carolina Press, 2019)

2019 Matthew Sakiestewa Gilbert, Hopi Runners: Crossing the Terrain between Indian and American (University Press of Kansas, 2018)

2018 | Julian Lim for Porous Borders: Multiracial Migrations and the Law in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands (University of North Carolina Press, 2017)

2017 | David Wallace Adams for Three Roads to Magdalena: Coming of Age in a Southwest Borderland, 1890-1990 (University Press of Kansas, 2016)

2016 | Andrew Torget for Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800-1850 (University of North Carolina Press)

2015 | Andrew Needham for Power Lines: Phoenix and the Making of the Modern Southwest  (Princeton University Press, 2014)

2014 | John L. Kessell for Miera y Pacheco: A Renaissance Spaniard in Eighteenth-Century New Mexico (University of Oklahoma Press, 2013)

2013 | Lance R. Blyth for Chiricahua and Janos: Communities of Violence in the Southwestern Borderlands, 1680-1880 (University of Nebraska Press, 2012)

2012 | William deBuys for A Great Aridness: Climate Change and the Future of the American Southwest (Oxford University Press, 2013)

Return to Awards

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas | History Department

1445 Jayhawk Blvd. | 3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045 | 785-864-0860