Western History Association 2020 Award Winners

Monday, October 12, 2020 8:12 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Congratulations to all of our 2020 award winners! There were so many great submissions for these prizes. Please join us in congratulating the following 2020 WHA awards recipients (and don't forget to submit your work for the 2021 awards cycle)!

Read the list or browse the 2020 WHA Awards Program! https://bit.ly/2T3IxIM

Gordon Bakken Award of Merit
Caroline Schimmel, University of Pennsylvania
Brian Q. Cannon, Brigham Young University

Honorary Lifetime Membership
Caroline Schimmel, University of Pennsylvania
Peter Blodgett, The Huntington Library
Virginia Scharff, University of New Mexico (emerita)

Autry Public History Prize
Red Dead University, Center for the Study of the American West, West Texas A&M University. Contributors: Alex Hunt, Tim Foster, and A.J. McCormick

Caughey Western History Association Prize
Maurice Crandall, These People Have Always Been a Republic: Indigenous Electorates in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, 1598-1912 (University of North Carolina Press, 2019)

David J. Weber-Clements Prize
Maurice Crandall, These People Have Always Been a Republic: Indigenous Electorates in the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands, 1598-1912 (University of North Carolina Press, 2019)

Donald L. Fixico Award
Philip J. Deloria, Becoming Mary Sully: Toward an American Indian Abstract (University of Washington Press, 2019)

Hal K. Rothman Award
Bathsheba Demuth, Floating Coast: An Environmental History of the Bering Strait (W.W. Norton, 2019)

Joan Paterson Kerr Award
Heather Ahtone, Faith Brower, and Seth Hopkins, Warhol and the West (University of California Press, 2019)

John C. Ewers Award
Brianna Theobald, Reproduction on the Reservation: Pregnancy, Childbirth, and Colonialism in the Long Twentieth Century (University of North Carolina Press, 2019)

Robert G. Athearn Award
Alexandra Harmon, Reclaiming the Reservation: Histories of Indian Sovereignty Suppressed and Renewed (University of Washington Press, 2019)

Robert M. Utley Award
Pekka Hämäläinen, Lakota America: A New History of Indigenous Power (Yale University Press, 2019)

Sally and Ken Owens Award
Genevieve Carpio, Collisions at the Crossroads: How Place and Mobility Make Race (University of California Press, 2019)

W. Turrentine Jackson Award
Bathsheba Demuth, Floating Coast: An Environmental History of the Bering Strait (W.W. Norton, 2019)

Arrell M. Gibson Award
Doug Kiel, “Nation v. Municipality: Indigenous Land Recovery, Settler Resentment, and Taxation on the Oneida Reservation,” Native American and Indigenous Studies Journal (Fall 2019)

Arrington-Prucha Prize
Angela Pulley Hudson, “There is no Mormon Trail of Tears: Roots, Removals, and Reconstructions,” in Brian Q. Cannon and Clyde A. Milner II, eds., Reconstruction and Mormon America (University of Oklahoma Press, 2019)

Bert M. Fireman and Janet Fireman Award
Mariel Aquino, “‘It Has a Way of Getting in Your Blood When You’re Basque’: Basque Sheepherders, Race, and Labor, 1880-1959,” Western Historical Quarterly (Winter 2019)

Bolton-Cutter Award
C.J. Alvarez, “Police, Waterworks, and the Construction of the U.S.-Mexico Border, 1924-1954,” Western Historical Quarterly (Winter 2019)

Jensen-Miller Award
Jordan Biro Walters, “‘So Let Me Paint’: Navajo Artist R.C. Gorman and the Artistic, Native, and Queer Subcultures of San Francisco, California,” Pacific Historical Review (Summer 2019)

Michael P. Malone Award
Kenneth R. Coleman, “‘We’ll All Start Even’: White Egalitarianism and the Oregon Donation Land Claim Act,” Oregon Historical Quarterly (Winter 2019)

Oscar O. Winther Award
Lissa K. Wadewitz, “Rethinking the ‘Indian War’: Northern Indians and Intra-Native Politics in the Western Canada-U.S. Borderlands,” Western Historical Quarterly (Winter 2019)

Ray Allen Billington Award
Nic John Ramos, “Poor Influences and Criminal Locations: Los Angeles’s Skid Row, Multicultural Identities, and Normal Homosexuality,” American Quarterly (June 2019)

Huntington Library-Western History Association Martin Ridge Fellowship
Naomi Sussman (Ph.D. Candidate, Yale University), “Between the River and the Sea: Cahuilla and Cupeño History in California’s Long Nineteenth Century”

Vicki L. Ruiz Award
Uzma Quraishi, “Racial Calculations: Indian and Pakistani Immigrants in Houston, 1960-1980,” Journal of American Ethnic History (Summer 2019)

Sara Jackson Award
Divana Olivas (Ph.D. Candidate, University of Southern California), “Red or Green?” Race, Settler Colonialism, and Activism in New Mexico Food Politics From Statehood to Climate Crisis”

Walter Rundell Graduate Student Award
Andy Rafael Aguilera (Ph.D. Candidate, University of Michigan), “Negotiating Mexicanidad: Race and Nationalism in Mexican Los Angeles during the Mexican Revolution, 1880-1940”

Charles Redd Center Teaching Western History Award
Katie Ward, St. John Paul II Catholic School
Sandra Garcia, Theodore Roosevelt Middle School
Alexander Hernandez, Cristo Rey High School
Katherine Wiedenhoft, Annunciation Catholic School

Louise Pubols Public History Award
Alessandra LaRocca Link, Indiana University Southeast

Indian Student Conference Scholarship
Amber Tallchief-Wellman, Eastern Washington University

Trennert-Iverson Conference Scholarship
Kimberly Sumano Ortega, University of Texas at El Paso
Dustin Cohan, University of Wisconsin-Madison

WHA Graduate Student Prize
Andy Rafael Aguilera, University of Michigan
Matthew Jason Green, University of Utah
Amado Guzmán, University of Arizona
Alejandra Herrera, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Greg LeDonne, Boise State University
Kevan Malone, University of California, San Diego
Jenni Tifft-Ochoa, University of California, Davis
Michelle Vasquez Ruiz, University of Southern California

The WHA is located in the Department of History at the University of Kansas.

The WHA is grateful to KU's History Department and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for their generous support!

Western History Association

University of Kansas 

1445 Jayhawk Blvd.

3650 Wescoe Hall

Lawrence, KS 66045